Sage 5 stops

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
User avatar
gull wing
Member
Posts: 3248
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Louisiana USA

Sage 5 stops

Postby gull wing » Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:28 pm

I don't have one, but disassembly vids show two stop pins in both the G10 and FRN models. They are set up differently, but both have two.
Why would they need two? There is a sizable pin in the standard location.
SCARAMOUCHE! :spyder:

User avatar
JustinB
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:26 pm
Location: Nova Scotia

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby JustinB » Thu Apr 02, 2020 5:58 am

I am pretty sure it is the open stop and closed stop. Sal might be able to give more/better insight as to why both are needed though

User avatar
gull wing
Member
Posts: 3248
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Louisiana USA

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby gull wing » Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:43 pm

That would be interesting to know.
SCARAMOUCHE! :spyder:

User avatar
Donut
Member
Posts: 9325
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:47 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby Donut » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:50 pm

I'm not sure what you're talking about. I am looking at my Sage 5 and it looks pretty normal as far as compression locks go.

Is it really the Sage 5?
-Brian
A distinguished lurker.
Waiting on a Squeak, Pingo, and Cliptools with a Split Spring!

User avatar
Sharp Guy
Member
Posts: 5341
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:19 pm
Location: Over here!

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby Sharp Guy » Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:57 pm

Donut wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:50 pm
I'm not sure what you're talking about. I am looking at my Sage 5 and it looks pretty normal as far as compression locks go.

Is it really the Sage 5?
It has an internal stop pin too. Several models use it. I'd have to look but I'm pretty sure the Sliverax uses one. I think the Hanan and Kapara do too.
Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!

User avatar
gull wing
Member
Posts: 3248
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Louisiana USA

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby gull wing » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:06 pm

Yes, I know there two stop pins, just how are they used?
SCARAMOUCHE! :spyder:

User avatar
Donut
Member
Posts: 9325
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:47 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby Donut » Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:42 am

Oh yeah, I see it. It's internal to the blade. This was discussed on the Chaparral 1.

Is it still considered a pin if it's attached to the blade?

Here is a thread with a little info: viewtopic.php?t=71816
-Brian
A distinguished lurker.
Waiting on a Squeak, Pingo, and Cliptools with a Split Spring!

User avatar
gull wing
Member
Posts: 3248
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Louisiana USA

Re: Sage 5 stops

Postby gull wing » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:05 pm

This has not been answered to my satisfaction.
SCARAMOUCHE! :spyder:


Return to “Spyderco General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fixall, gbcaffee, Jazz, jpm2 and 25 guests