First Spyderco knife to obtain in 2020?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Tapik

First Spyderco knife to obtain in 2020?

Post by Tapik »

Hi, I'm kinda new to the knives and at the very of my hobby, so I don't really have a lot of knives yet - few Vix, some budget-friendly CRKTs and Chinese Ruike ones (they just everywhere in Ukraine, apart from our local Skif ones and Grand Way from China).

So, I want to go to the more premium and expensive (for our country, ofc) stuff, and actually have no idea what to get first - want to go for something about 100-150 USD (it will cost me 150-200 with the delivery), maybe a little more, maybe a little less. Have no experience with Spyderco's, but don't want the Chinese ones (just tired of liner lock, I guess).

Any ideas, what should I get first?

I was thinkin' about gettin' Chaparral, Para 3 LW or even Endura (VG-10 and ZDP are avialable in local online stores) - since I have to order online, I'm a little confused... :)

Thank you for any advice you may share!
Last edited by Tapik on Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
acer

Re: First Spyderco knife to obtain in 2020?

Post by acer »

Hi Tapik and welcome. 👍. You have already made a good decision by being here. Have fun 😁
jdw

Post by jdw »

Welcome to the forum! You certainly came to the right place. There are a lot of REALLY knowledgeable and friendly people on this board. An Endura ZDP-189 is one of my all time favorite knives by any maker but you can't really go wrong with most Spydies. Taichung quality is off the charts, Golden makes knives that I would trust my life with, Seki/Moki make great FRN models and some will argue that Moki production is close to that of Taichung. My first buy for the New Year will be the Sun/Moon Chaparral. I am really excited about this release and I am guessing that they won't stay in regular production for very long. Again, welcome and I hope that you find some great answers.