Para3 lightweight stiff

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Blafedude02

Para3 lightweight stiff

Post by Blafedude02 »

Hi all,

I received my paramilitary 3 lightweight and was shocked by how sticky and stiff the knife was. This was my first spyderco knife and I'm a little disappointed. I tried to loosen the center and compression bolt but that made this issue worse. Is this issue a one off or is this expected?
Dodge

Re: Para3 lightweight stiff

Post by Dodge »

Sounds odd to me. I suggest you contact Spyderco and send it in. Mine came butter smooth with no blade play at all.
Last edited by Dodge on Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Flash Batch request: Flat Iron Salt (CE w/ yellow FRN)
New knife request: Police 4 Salt!!!

“Don’t be so open minded that your brain falls out”
JonLeBlanc

Post by JonLeBlanc »

If I may, I'm by no means an expert on the Para3 LW because I don't own one, but this is a good topic. It seems like with a compression lock model one might reasonably expect there to be very little "stiffness," but I have had a PM2 that was quite stiff when I first got it. That was the S110V version. It worked itself smooth over a period of maybe a week through regular opening and use, and became very drop-shutty lol. Perhaps yours just needs a little time and use? Or maybe there IS something up with the scales or pivot etc? I'd recommend giving it a little more time before taking the next step of sending it in, although that could become necessary.
My collection so far: 52100 Military (2); 52100 PM2 (2); 52100 Para3; Stretch2 V-Toku; KnifeWorks M4 PM2; BentoBox M390 PM2; BentoBox S90V Military; Police4 K390; S110V PM2; SS Delica AUS-6; Wayne Goddard Sprint VG-10
Wish list: Hundred Pacer; Sliverax; Mantra; 52100 PM2 SE; Kapara
sal

Post by sal »

Hi Dude,

Welcome to our forum.

Sounds odd to me. Did you buy it new? You may need to send it to us?

sal
awa54

Post by awa54 »