The low grit sharpening thread

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
vivi

The low grit sharpening thread

Post by vivi »

I've been sharpening knives for about 30 years.

Most that time I took my edges to a high polish, generally finishing with highest grit I had available to me. I'd finish my edges with a Spyderco ultrafine benchstone or sharpmaker rods, then strop.

Reading about sharpening on different knife forums convinced me that polished edges would always be sharper than a coarse edge, and therefore cut better.

Over the past two years I've come to find out that this isn't always true.

In fact I'd say the majority of the time a lower grit edge will show superior performance VS a highly polished.

-------------------------------

I started experimenting with low grit edges a few years ago. I had a PE Pacific Salt I was carrying frequently at the time. It was one of my favorite work knives, but the edge holding left a little to be desired.

One thing I observed with PE H1 is that the apex starts to feel really slick after some use when you run a polished apex. I got the idea to use a lower grit finish to give the edge some teeth. The idea was after a little dulling those teeth would help grab the materials I was slicing, rather than sliding around like a dulled polished edge.

H1 with a polished edge quickly lost its bite

Instead of touching up the knife on the ultrafine sharpmaker rods, I used the brown medium rods that I never used. I was surprised to find I could still get the knife shaving sharp despite using what I considered at the time a very low grit finish.

That PE Pacific Salt would still lose shaving sharpness after cutting some cardboard, but with the microserrations at the apex it'd keep slicing well past that point.

Pacific Salt sharpened at 15 dps on medium rods

I had what I wanted - a PE Pacific Salt with enhanced edge retention!

After experimenting with the Pacific Salt, I started trying this out on the rest of my knives.