Problem sharpening a Mannix 154CM

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
CranstonSnord

Problem sharpening a Mannix 154CM

Post by CranstonSnord »

Hello everybody! First time poster here. I bought a used Mannix at a pawn shop that was in good condition, but was as dull as a butter knife. I only paid $40.00 for it so I thought I was getting a great deal. Now I am not so sure! I am no expert at sharpening knives, but have been using a Smith's pull through that has adjustable sharpening angles. I read that Spyderco does theirs from the factory at 30 degrees, but this sharpener will only go up to 24, so that it what I have it set at. I also have been using a Lansky Deluxe Controlled Angle set on it, which uses stones of various types. I have been toying with this all week, and while I have managed to get the knife sharper, it still does not even cut paper. I can feel it has more of an edge, but I think some of what I am feeling is burrs. It should not take that much effort to sharpen this knife. What am I doing wrong? Do any of you have any suggestions? Pics are included and that you for any information you can provide!

attila

Re: Problem sharpening a Mannix 154CM

Post by attila »

Sorry, I hit the wrong button...
Last edited by attila on Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Have: old S30V Native, HAP40 Endura, ZDP DF2, S110V Manix LW, Cru-wear Para 3, SE H1 DF2, S90V Native 5, K390 Urban, SE Pac Salt, P.I.T.S., XHP Manix LW, SB Caly 3, B70P, PMA11, K03, Kapara, REX 45 Military, 154CM Manix LW, Swick, AEB-L Urban, KC Cruwear Manix, M390 PM2, Mantra 2, CruCarta Shaman, M390 Manix, K390 Police 4, S90V Manix LW, Rex 45 Manix LW, 20CV Manix, Rex 45 Lil’Native, Shaman, C208GP, Cruwear Manix, Cruwear Manix, M4 Chief, Z-max!!!

Want: SPY27, K490, Swick 5
TkoK83Spy

Post by TkoK83Spy »