"sharpening" services

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
nrs

"sharpening" services

Post by nrs »

Hello all, this is my first post here.

I am new to Spyderco knives, got my first endura a year ago and have picked up a couple since.

I sharpen my knives semi weekly, and planned to send them in to the factory once a year for a good clean factory edge.

After 3 weeks at the factory I received the 4 knives back yesterday. The edge is so rounded and dull it can't even enter a cut on a sheet of paper.

I have emailed them and am just getting bot like responses.

My question is this, what has your experience been in sending them in for sharpening? Should I bother to send them back? Should I expect anything better than what I received from them (feels like they were sharpened on a river rock).
TazKristi

Re: "sharpening" services

Post by TazKristi »

Hi, nrs:
I'm sorry, to hear that you were disappointed. I can tell you that no, we don't sharpen anything on a rock. I can also add that the person who sharpens in W&R has been with us for several years. Having started in our factory, he's quite skilled at sharpening. We are human though, so I won't pretend that mistakes don't happen from time to time.

I spoke with W&R this morning. They reached out to me after receiving your last e-mail. I've read through the full exchange of e-mails, and I've seen a few posts from you on social media. I guess my question to you is, at this point, how do we make this right with you? For the record, we don't have any bots — just people.

Welcome to our forum. There's a wealth of information and history here in our community. We hope you enjoy your time with us.

Kristi
There is nothing more important than this one day.
ZrowsN1s

Post by ZrowsN1s »

nrs wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 9:21 am

Hi NRS.