Spyderco and law enforcement personnel

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
bagsnatcher

Spyderco and law enforcement personnel

Post by bagsnatcher »

I've seen several YouTube videos where active LE personnel reference Spyderco as the de facto standard knife for LE.

Granted, the sample size is small (their unit/department/other buddies on the force) and it's wildly unscientific.

But I wonder: how true is it? How popular is Spyderco with law enforcement?
Bertrbc16

Re: Spyderco and law enforcement personnel

Post by Bertrbc16 »

I work for large police department(1400). Never seen anyone carrying a spyderco. Knives are normally kept out of sight so maybe there out there. I have been working for 24+ years, the major issue is cost. Most younger cops cant afford quality knives so they buy cheaper alternatives. I am a collector and own around 30 spydercos and only carry a small dragonfly in my outervest pocket for small tasks. I made the mistake of buying a expensive benchmade auto. One drop on floor at station and the benchmade stopped opening properly. Not sure what I would carry if I decided to carry a spyderco, probably PM2.

I see Spydercos as off duty carry.
Zatx

Post by Zatx »

Very popular.

This is just from my limited recollection, so it's most likely wrong, but Spyderco seemed to be the first knifemaker embraced by the law enforcement community. I did an internship with my local police department way back in 1991 and nearly every officer had a Police model with a fully serrated blade. This leads me to believe that the officers appreciated the clip (which was unique at the time) and the serrations for cutting seat belts and zip-ties. I'm not sure when it started, but they also have the OPFOCUS discount which takes 50% off the price of their knives for law enforcement, first responders, and military personnel. It's how I have such an extensive collection. ;)
standy99

Post by standy99 »