Is this edge wear normal?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
tps3443

Is this edge wear normal?

Post by tps3443 »

I’ve been using this knife daily at work since Monday. It has never been sharpened, or even touched up. It still shaves very clean, but I’m just curious if this is a ok looking wear pattern for S110V. Is that chipping? Should I resharpen at 15 degrees each side? Or touch up at 20 degrees each side? I’m still learning sharpening on my guided system. Don’t wanna damage anything..it’s still very sharp, I check the edge periodically during the day and I just noticed this today.

Thank you to everyone who replies. I hope my baby is ok! 😢

Last edited by tps3443 on Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
“My daily razor blade”
Microtech Stitch CTS-204P stonewashed blade
Microtech Dirac Delta CTS-204P Black DLC
^Wicked Edge guided system^
Dingo

Re: Is this edge wear normal?

Post by Dingo »

What have you been cutting with it at work?
tps3443

Post by tps3443 »

Dingo wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:04 pm
Cardboard, and zip ties, the small plastic shipping straps that hold boxes together, A few bags, A little paper and tape. Nothing serious. No frivolous play cutting has been done whatsoever.
“My daily razor blade”
Dingo

Post by Dingo »

tps3443 wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:07 pm
Dingo wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:04 pm
Cardboard, and zip ties, the small plastic shipping straps that hold boxes together, A few bags, A little paper and tape. Nothing serious. No frivolous play cutting has been done whatsoever.
I would sharpen it out, probably the factory edge, pretty common and panicked me a time or two
Evil D

Post by Evil D »

It almost looks more like a burr that's been left on and is breaking off. I would see if the 30 setting will hit the very edge or not, and if not just go with the 40.
All SE all the time since 2017
~David
The Meat man

Post by The Meat man »

That looks like chipping.