Chaparral... Liner Lock?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
kpatr4

Chaparral... Liner Lock?

Post by kpatr4 »

The Chaparral is a great knife. It has been on my list of knives to get for nearly four years, but for one reason or another it hadn't landed in my pocket until this past month. And now that it is... WOW. That said, I wish there was a liner lock version available. I'm no designer, but taking the same construction (thin blade, super-thin washers, and therefore a thin handle), I think it would be one heck of a small gents knife and something fun to fidget with as well. What are your thoughts on this idea?

PS: I understand that the Chaparral series is to focus on scales/handles as opposed to locking mechanism, That said, a liner lock would still be wonderful.
sal

Re: Chaparral... Liner Lock?

Post by sal »

Hi Kpatr4,

Welcome to our forum.

A linerlock Chaparral would require all new tooling. A rather expensive investment.

sal
MichaelScott

Post by MichaelScott »

I certainly prefer a back lock and the Chaparral has probably the best. My main reason for preferring the back lock is it’s propensity to keep the blade closed. I have two Walker Liner Lock knives as well as a compression lock knife. I don’t have any concerns with the safety of any — liner, compression or back locks since I don’t abuse them or use them beyond their design limits, i.e., cutting a limb from a tree with my Lil’ Lum.
Overheard at the end of the ice age, “We’ve been having such unnatural weather.”

http://acehotel.blog

Team Innovation
Sharp Guy

Post by Sharp Guy »

I love my Sage 2. So I don't disagree that a Chaparral-sized Ti frame-lock would be a sweet little knife. It just wouldn't really be a Chaparral anymore. So create a smaller-thinner Sage 2 with the thin blade stock of the Chap made of XHP steel (or even some other nice SS) and you'd have a winner. Not sure it would be a big seller since we already have the Chap but it's fun to dream. :)