Spyderco for Whittling?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
knivesandbooks

Spyderco for Whittling?

Post by knivesandbooks »

I'm no expert when it comes to whittling. Nay, I'm mot very good. But on beautiful Spring weekends I love to sit out and do a little carving. I generally use a traditional pocket knife for this, lately my yellow boned GEC Churchill. However, since I always have at least one, if not two, Spyderco's in my pocket, I've started considering using one of these for whittling. I was wondering if any of you whittle and if so, do you use a Spyderco? What model do you find best? I tried my Chaparall today and the thin blade was excellent, however the thin handle became uncomfortable after too long. I may try my lil' native soon as it has a much thicker handle. Any thoughts or experiences doing some Spydie whittlin'?
Christ is risen from the dead, trampling down death by death, and on those in the tombs bestowing life!
bearfacedkiller

Re: Spyderco for Whittling?

Post by bearfacedkiller »

I find the Native works well. When using the choil the ergos are great and the smaller blade is easy to control with that full grip. I have a custom Puukko that does most of my whittling but when I grab a folder it is usually a Native. For me a small blade and a full grip are confidence inspiring and for me that carries a lot of weight when whittling. The edge isn’t ground as thin as it could be for wood carving but it works.
-Darby
sal wrote:Knife afi's are pretty far out, steel junky's more so, but "edge junky's" are just nuts. :p
SpyderEdgeForever wrote: Also, do you think a kangaroo would eat a bowl of spagetti with sauce if someone offered it to them?
Bloke

Post by Bloke »

I used to whittle regularly and tried all sorts of folders but none performed overly well and hurt my hand sooner or later through hot spots.