Yakut - For the ethnic series

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Niles

Yakut - For the ethnic series

Post by Niles »

I have recently started investigating and making Yakut (or possibly Saha) knives, and am ridiculously impressed with their performance. Consequently, I think it'd be a great addition to the ethnic series.

The yakut has a flat face with a groove on one side, and a convex face on the other. This chisel grind thusly makes a knife specifically right or left handed. The hollow on the flat face makes the knife quick and easy to sharpen.

The handles are simple, usually pretty large, with an egg/oval profile.

I have never made a sharper knife. The ease of sharpening a convex chisel grind makes it simple to get a wicked sharp edge.

Below are a couple pictures of one of mine (made from an old file). I'm still learning to make these, so don't take mine as a historically accurate example, but I don't think I'm far off.

twinboysdad

Re: Yakut - For the ethnic series

Post by twinboysdad »

Other than blade geometry, seems an awful lot like a Puuko or Nilakka
Niles

Post by Niles »

Yeah. It's the groove and the grind that sets it apart.
TomAiello

Post by TomAiello »

What is the purpose of the groove?
J D Wijbenga

Post by J D Wijbenga »

An interesting, purpose, driven design. I to have investigated is a bit. There are some nice youtube video's of this knife style.
https://youtu.be/zXvirUvF3Co
TomAiello

Post by TomAiello »

I'm wondering if the groove is just a result of being the way that a flat piece of metal got bent into the convex shape for the other side. It's a nice way to lighten the knife, though.
nicked.onaut

Post by nicked.onaut »

I suspect it is for the same reason that Japanese chisels have hollow backs. Flattening the entire surface area of a fully-flat back is much more laborious in time and stone-wear than for a blade with a hollowed portion. Quicker and easier when hollow ground.