Hey Sal, any chance of a Vanax SC mule??

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
Surfingringo

Hey Sal, any chance of a Vanax SC mule??

Post by Surfingringo »

I have been testing this steel for several months now in one of my fillet designs and I am very impressed. When I was given the first test piece of this steel, I was told by the Uddeholm reps that the steel had the corrosion resistance of lc200n and the wear resistance and edge performance of Elmax. I was dubious and told them as much. After extensive testing of three knives with various heat treats, I would say that this steel offers extreme corrosion resistance (comparable to lc200n) and edge performance and wear resistance in the s30v/cpm154 range. I don't have any Elmax but I tested the prototypes side by side with cpm154 at 61 hrc and the results were very similar.

I think some of these new nitrogen steels have the potential to really transform the knife world and I'd like to see Spyderco continue to lead the way. This steel is very interesting and I think it would make a great mule (so we could get more people's opinions). If the results I have seen hold true across a broader user base then we might just have a great new steel available.
'
For the record, I've got no business dealings with Uddeholm. They asked if I would test it and I said yes but told them I wouldn't sugarcoat the results. I really didn't expect it to wow me and if it hadn't I probably would have just kept my mouth shut. I can't keep my mouth shut now though. This stuff looks really promising to me.

bluntcut

Re: Hey Sal, any chance of a Vanax SC mule??

Post by bluntcut »

Hey Lance,

Thanks for your data on Vanax (Your knife hrc ~59 - 59.5) long term performance in salty environment. S30V edge retention is about where I assessed vanax as well. My latest test blade hrc is around 61.5 to almost 62. This blade has hunter/util profile.