Sharpening Spyderco on Water Stones

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
nicolaidenmark

Sharpening Spyderco on Water Stones

Post by nicolaidenmark »

Hi all,

I would like to apologize beforehand as this topic will have some questions similar or identical to those found in my "New Pivot Screw / S110V" thread. However, since this thread will concentrate more on sharpening equipment I considered it OK to make it seperate from the other.

First:

I'm not very good at sharpening and I don't have a lot experience with blades. Before getting my Manix 2 I was more into fixed blades and tried different Fällkniven models. With one of the Fallkniven knives I bought their DC4 a small, portable diamond and ceramic pocket stone. I worked on the laminated VG10 blades but it was / small and the diamond as well as the gold coloured coating wore off the stone way to fast. The diamond side, according to Fällkniven was 25 micron but, as with the Spyderco bench stones, no real grit was indicated for the ceramic.

Fast forward and I decided to purchase Japanese water stones http://www.naniwa-abrasive.com/product/ ... ofessional. Essentialy the new Chosera line, the Professional is said to have an improved bonding agent, however, as I have not owned the Chosera line I cannot compare them. I have the 400, 1,000, 3,000 and 5,000 grit stones.

They seem to work and I like the size of a true bench stone as I think it's easier to work with than pocket sized stones. I like the idea of sharpening the old, traditional Japanese way although the water bit can be a bit messy and impractical at times.