Worth a warranty claim?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ConspicuousConsumption

Worth a warranty claim?

Post by ConspicuousConsumption »

Hi all. So I used my new Manix 2 S30V to gently pry open a pistachio nut, and somehow the very tip broke and I got a small blade nick. I wasn't even doing this aggressively at all, and besides it's a tiny nut, not metal or something.

Do you think this is worth a warranty claim or just try to work it out? I'm new to sharpening but I have a SM and strop.
Photo May 28, 8 47 37 PM.jpg
The first time I saw a Spyderco was the early 90s at a knife shop in a mall. I can still see the SpydieHoles through that glass display cabinet. My parents wouldn't buy any of them for me... so now I buy them all. :spyder:
Sharp Guy

Re: Worth a warranty claim?

Post by Sharp Guy »

Personally, I wouldn't bother to send it in. It'll sharpen out eventually. You can send it in to Spyderco and have them resharpen it if it really bothers you but it's not worth the trouble IMO.

BTW, I don't think something like this would actually be covered under warranty. So it may cost you something to have it repaired. I'd suggest giving the Warranty & Repair Dept. A call to see what they say.

https://www.spyderco.com/service-suppor ... ty-repair/
Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!
farnorthdan

Post by farnorthdan »

Welcome to the forum ConspicuousConsumption, That should sharpen out pretty fast, I'd just use it, sharpen and repeat.
Happy to be part of this great forum and group of down to earth spyderco addicts, Thanks Sal and gang.
My Grails: Lum Tanto folder sprint, Sprint Persian(red), Captain, Manix 2 (M4), SB MT, PM2 M390, CF dodo, Manix2 (CF S90V),Manix2 XL S90V, Zowada CF Balance Rassenti Nivarna, Lil' Nilakka, Tuff, Police 4, Chinook 4, Caly HAP40 52100 Military, S110V Military, Any/All PM2 & Military sprints/exclusives I can get my grubby hands on :) :spyder: :) :spyder: :)