My simple technique for sharpening serrations

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
vivi

My simple technique for sharpening serrations

Post by vivi »

I'm still new to sharpening serrated edges so I'm by no means an expert. If you see some flaws in what I'm doing, I'm all ears.

https://youtu.be/Ptmx1iJELhU
Doc Dan
Location: In a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity.

Re: My simple technique for sharpening serrations

Post by Doc Dan »

Thanks for the video. That was nothing like I thought it was going to be. So simple!
I Pray Heaven to Bestow The Best of Blessing on THIS HOUSE, and on ALL that shall hereafter Inhabit it. May none but Honest and Wise Men ever rule under This Roof! (John Adams regarding the White House)

Follow the Christ, the King,
Live pure, speak true, right wrong, follow the King--
Else, wherefore born?" (Tennyson)

NRA Life Member
Spydernation 0050
Mora2013

Post by Mora2013 »

I've been sharpening similarly, although sometimes I flip and do the exactly opposite. Sharpening on the backside near parallel to the edge, and then taking off the burr on the front side with the corner of a strop. Wondering if anyone else out there does this?
Surfingringo

Post by Surfingringo »

Hey vivi, that was an excellent video! Thanks for taking the time to do that. Personally, I like adding a microbevel that's 20 degrees on one side and 3 or 4 on the other as that gives me a little stronger edge but I like the way you're doing it here too. Nice work.
anagarika

Post by anagarika »

Thank you for sharing the video and hair splitting sample. I rarely achieve hair splitting, so if my Atlantic Salt can achieve that, why not ;)
Chris :spyder:
JD Spydo

Post by JD Spydo »