Manix2 Maxamet Feedback

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Sierra_dave

Manix2 Maxamet Feedback

Post by Sierra_dave »

This is just some real user feedback on the Manix2 Maxamet, which I have been using as my EDC for several months since it's release. I use the knife every day to cut almost anything [cardboard, tape, electrical wire, paper, food, plants, etc]. I do not whittle or use the knife to pry, but have used the edge to scrape. 99.99% use to cut only. After 1 month I re-profiled it to 15 degrees per side and sharpened with diamond hones to 2000 grit. I own Spyderco, Benchmade, Buck, and custom knives. I read the forums, but almost never post.

1.) Although I have a half dozen exotic steel knives, I have only used 2 others [ S110V and K390] as EDC. The Maxamet is sharp and retains its edge as well as these steels, but I sharpen it more often. I would say that I sharpen it once a month on average versus once every 3 months for others mentioned.

2) Although it cuts well, in sticky material whether plastics or food, it bogs down. This is noticeably more than say K390, which is less slick than S110V in my experience.

3) Along the same lines, I have to clean this knife after virtually every cut. The metal's surface attracts and sticks anything it can. Maybe this steel is a good candidate for nitrate or black blade coatings? It stains like other non-stainless.

4) I have not experienced rolling of the edge or chipping, but a couple of times there was minor deformation after cutting thicker electrical wire. The wire was copper strand about 1/4 inch thick.

5) Although I like its ergonomics in my hands, the knife is too wide for my X-Large hands when I try to get something in my right hand pocket where I keep the knife. Except in cargo pants that means taking the knife out to get in that pocket.