What parts of a knife could I 3d print?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Tyrdle

What parts of a knife could I 3d print?

Post by Tyrdle »

I have a 3d printer and I am wondering what I could 3D print for my knives. I'm thinking sheaths, custom handle scales, etc. I have experience 3d modeling also, and I think with some time I could successfully model a handle scale if I wanted. I have a Mamba, Positron, S110v PM2, UKPK, Delica, and Endura.
:spyder: Turtles can have knives too, right? :spyder:
Aus-8 Delica 1 ATS-55 Endura UK Penknife
Positron Mamba Blurple PM2
SG89

Re: What parts of a knife could I 3d print?

Post by SG89 »

Probably start with scales or maybe those plastic wave attachments
Spydergirl88
3 Nats, 1 Chap, 1 Sham, 1 Urb
yablanowitz

Post by yablanowitz »

Aside from scales and spacers I don't know of any parts I would trust 3d printed.
Tyrdle

Post by Tyrdle »

Does anyone know where I can get a good image of a backspacer for any of these knives?
BrandoSpoke

Post by BrandoSpoke »

anything that can be replaced with plastic pretty much but it may not be as strong
"If you talk all the time, you will never hear what anybody else has to say, and therefore, all you'll have to talk about is your own conversation."
-Alan Watts
Ryno

Post by Ryno »

I don't know if this is possible with your printer or with any printer for that matter, but what about both scales and backspacer all one piece.
Ryan

“Every created being is so constituted as to be capable of vice and virtue. For he can do nothing praiseworthy, if he had not the power of turning either way.” - Justin Martyr
Tyrdle

Post by Tyrdle »

Ryno wrote:I don't know if this is possible with your printer or with any printer for that matter, but what about both scales and backspacer all one piece.
I probably could with supports. The hard part would be fitting the liner into the printed part.
Ryno

Post by Ryno »

Tyrdle wrote: