Red loctite

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Paul Manning

Red loctite

Post by Paul Manning »

Hey there - I am an admin for the Spyderco group on Facebook (not affiliated with the company, just a very very large fan page), and I have been seeing a plethora of threads regarding red loctite on Spyderco knives. I have kept quiet so far, I try not to speak unless I have something intelligent to say - and I am not sure what the full story is. Is Spyderco using red loctite on all threads now? Thanks
Paul
Evil D

Re: Red loctite

Post by Evil D »

I've never seen it on any threads. What knives are we finding it on? I've only ever seen blue.
All SE all the time since 2017
~David
Paul Manning

Post by Paul Manning »

David, I do not take my knives apart - no need. However, I have seen members comment on every model you could think of (PM2, Military, Manix2, delica4, endura4, Yojimbo2, etc..). At first, I thought they were just plain wrong... But I have seen a trend continue for the past few months, which led me to ask the forum. I think we will have to wait for Sal to respond on this one.
Paul
valenciamanu

Post by valenciamanu »

The red loctite is very strong.I do not see it suitable for knives. What can happen is that the color code of other manufacturers does not correspond to the one of locttite.
Paul Manning

Post by Paul Manning »

valenciamanu wrote:The red loctite is very strong.I do not see it suitable for knives. What can happen is that the color code of other manufacturers does not correspond to the one of locttite.
That was my guess too. However, members have commented on the strength required to remove the screws - honestly, if it truly is red loctite - the only way to remove the hardware correctly is with heat.
Paul
Evil D

Post by Evil D »