Sal, what are the chances for a AEB-L spydie ?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
elena86

Sal, what are the chances for a AEB-L spydie ?

Post by elena86 »

I tried to push this in an older thread but maybe I'm lucky this time.Sal, AFAIK your policy is not to use steels with less than 08-0.9% carbon content but maybe you should give AEB-L a try granted it's hardened above 60HRC.Although I am a mechanical engineer not a metallurgist I know a thing or two about this stuff and I dare to quote and back-up John Verhoven, metallurgist, who says that AEB-L would be the best all-around steel for knifemakers. The reasons he gives for good edge retention are: 1. hardens to 63-64 Rc 2. very fine carbides that avoid carbide pull-out (which happens in coarse carbides) and add to wear resistance 3. The K2 carbide is formed, which gives better wear resitance to the K1 carbide which is formed in Mo steels such as 154-CM.I dare to affirm that it's going to be a revelation for everyone here.From my experience there are only two steels I need in my life on both sides of the spectrum: CPM-Cruwear and AEB-L just because they have superb balance of properties and very good edge stability.I can only dream on a Para2 in Cruwear and a UKPK in AEB-L.

Marius
Last edited by elena86 on Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Marius

" A mind all logic is like a knife all blade. It makes the hand bleed that uses it "
( Rabindranath Tagore )

Proud member of the old school spyderedge nation :bug-white-red
jabba359

Re: Sal, what are the chances for a AEB-L spydie ?

Post by jabba359 »

Sal says an AEB-L might be worth exploring in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=70930
-Kyle

:bug-red
Latest arrivals: Lava Flow CF DLC Para2, Magnacut Mule, GITD Jester

http://www.spydiewiki.com
twinboysdad

Post by twinboysdad »

Native LW or Manix LW please
sal

Post by sal »

Hi Elena,