Newbie Question

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
average-Joe

Newbie Question

Post by average-Joe »

Please, I'm by far a total amateur sharpening knives. Originally I wanted to just send my knives back to be sharpened. Then reading so much it makes no sense so I bought a sharpmaker. I personally think my amateur skills with patience I've seen an improvement from my sharpness vs the factory.
That being said, again I'm brand new to sharpening. Should all my spydercos being new with factory edges be sharpened on the 40 degree angle side? I want to get my Hungarian and Vallotton really sharp and again I think I see a small improvement already. I even bought ultra fine stones. Do I always pick 30 degree? I started using the sharpie idea even but I guess my skills lie elsewhere because I haven't gotten them to be terrific. I have a older lady friend who is skilled at knives, and not once has she told me the knife wasn't dull to what she's used to. Could that be based on the types of steel she would be used to verses edgier newer steels since almost all my knives are the latest spydercos?
farnorthdan

Re: Newbie Question

Post by farnorthdan »

Its said that most :spyder:'s come 15 degrees +/- per side or 30 inclusive. On my new ones, (if I decide not to re-profile out of the box) I will use the 30 slots primarily then do a nice lite 40 micro bevel, very lite and just a half dozen strokes per side.

edit: almost forgot, I mostly use only the brown rods, but that's just me...
Happy to be part of this great forum and group of down to earth spyderco addicts, Thanks Sal and gang.
My Grails: Lum Tanto folder sprint, Sprint Persian(red), Captain, Manix 2 (M4), SB MT, PM2 M390, CF dodo, Manix2 (CF S90V),Manix2 XL S90V, Zowada CF Balance Rassenti Nivarna, Lil' Nilakka, Tuff, Police 4, Chinook 4, Caly HAP40 52100 Military, S110V Military, Any/All PM2 & Military sprints/exclusives I can get my grubby hands on :) :spyder: :) :spyder: :)