Idea for new Salt/Outdoor model...your opinions?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Surfingringo

Idea for new Salt/Outdoor model...your opinions?

Post by Surfingringo »

So I made up my mind recently that instead of just always asking for a new Salt knife, I was going to sit down and design one. I was going to take all my experience with the salt folders and my ideas and try to apply them to a new design that would make a solid addition to the Salt family. My idea was not just to come up with a design for fishing, but one that would satisfy the usage requirements for many outdoor activities like hunting, camping, survival...etc. I have spent a good deal of time lately looking at the characteristics i thought were important for such a knife.

Once I started drawing, I decided to look into my current collection for inspiration and ideas. I wanted a design with a slightly negative blade angle. I wanted a large comfortable handle with finger choil and some sort of "birds head" at the butt end of the handle to aid in retention with wet/slippery hands. Blade profile was extremely important too. Something with more belly than the Pacific Salt, but not so much that the tip could not be used for "exacto" type work. I wanted to include a completely flat spine as that works so well for so many "tip out" cutting chores. Etc, etc.

Well, if you haven't figured it out by well, I realized that I wanted a Military. :rolleyes: I finally just put the pen and paper away because I realized that I was not going to be able to come up with a design the was better suited to the requirements I envision for this kind of work. But just because I gave up on the design doesn't mean I don't have some requests....hahah

HERE'S WHAT I WAS THINKING: