More about the Spyderco UF stone. Good stuff.

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
jackknifeh

More about the Spyderco UF stone. Good stuff.

Post by jackknifeh »

I decided to try the UF ceramic stone for sharpening (honing) straight razors. I started learning to hone them in Sep. 2013. So I've got 15-16 months into the learning process. In the past 2-3 months I'm seeing improvement that equals in what I'll call "shave ready" razors. It's taken a lot of practice and getting over one hurdle I'll warn anyone about who wants to learn to hone razors and already can sharpen a knife. Please don't take any knife sharpening knowledge to the bench when learning to hone razors. Do your best just to forget it and go by the advice of the experts. While an apex is an apex it's a different technique to acquire the razor sharp edge on a straight razor. Enough of that.