Rescue blade on Massdrop

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
LDphifty

Rescue blade on Massdrop

Post by LDphifty »

I'm a new EMT and I'm gradually patching together my gear. Currently I'm carrying my Endura on duty and I can't see myself comfortably using it on calls due to it's tip. So I've decided to scratch together some cash for dedicated rescue blade.

I started up a Massdrop poll to try and get a group buy going on. I posted the majority of the options of better known blades, hoping that the Spyderco Assist would eventually win out. Unfortunately the BM Triage is running away with the poll. Probably because it has a more utilitarian blade shape. The Assist is currently at a very distant 2nd, despite being the superior option for this line of work.

If you are interested in an Assist at a group buy discount, here is the link. could use some support.

https://www.massdrop.com/vote/rescue-se ... rer=77FR9U" target="_blank

Thanks guys,
Lou

PS. if this violates any of the rules against deal spotting/promoting, i apologize.
djjinksy

Re: Rescue blade on Massdrop

Post by djjinksy »

Per Sal, I'll be a nice guy and not be too negative toward the Triage... But honestly, it looks like a standard knife plus a gut hook. I'll also fully admit that I'm biased toward Spydie products :D . That said, the Spyderco Assist has a no-slip-grip that won't fall out of your hand under pressure, a blunted tip so you won't stab your patients, more finger grips on the spine of the blade so you can squeeze-cut through thick items, and a protruding carbide point for punching windows. Unlike the Triage, the Assist was built from the ground up specifically for you and your needs. Regardless what your mass price works out to be, you're going to be a happier, healthier, more effective EMT with a Spyderco in your pocket!
-Steve
Embassy, Para2, Delica 4 SS, Dragonfly SS/ZDP/Superblue/H1, Native 5 G10, Manix 2 G10, Rescue 79, Swick3, Mule19
LDphifty

Post by LDphifty »