Salt 1 Pocket Clip

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
jaypowell0185

Salt 1 Pocket Clip

Post by jaypowell0185 »

I have been carrying a salt one for about two months now and absolutely love it. It has replaced my super blue delica for pocket time. The only thing I don't like is the black pocket clip. I wish it came with a polished clip. So I am wondering what grit sand paper should I use to sand off the black paint and polish the clip (Think tenacious clip). I think I am going to leave the barrel nut black.Oh and I do not own a dremel so everything will be done by hand. Thanks in advance
xceptnl

Post by xceptnl »

jaypowell0185 wrote:I have been carrying a salt one for about two months now and absolutely love it. It has replaced my super blue delica for pocket time. The only thing I don't like is the black pocket clip. I wish it came with a polished clip. So I am wondering what grit sand paper should I use to sand off the black paint and polish the clip (Think tenacious clip). I think I am going to leave the barrel nut black.Oh and I do not own a dremel so everything will be done by hand. Thanks in advance
I would start with a quality wet/dry 400 grit and go up from there. The clip is not stainless steel, it is titanium so that may affect your final result. On another note, they look great when heat anodized.
sal wrote: .... even today, we design a knife from the edge out!
*Landon*
Jeremy_A_Neel

Post by Jeremy_A_Neel »

I personally like the black coating on the clips. Looks cool when the paint starts to wear off.
"If you have a difficult task, give it to a lazy person - they will find an easier way to do it." -Hlade's Law
Fred Sanford

Post by Fred Sanford »

Head out to your local hardware store and get some paint stripper in a spray can. Spray on the clip....let sit 10 minutes. Wipe off paint. Lightly sand with a scotch-brite pad. Done. Takes about 30 mins total and costs less than $10.

:)

I've done this about 15 times. No joke.