Distinguishing Super Blue colors and rust and pitting

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
mcb

Distinguishing Super Blue colors and rust and pitting

Post by mcb »

I'm a noob when it comes to carbon steel :( can anyone explain the differences in the colors of SB and how to tell if it's really rust or pitting? What will it look like? I've tried searching but haven't found any pictures of rust on SB. I have seen some great patinas, but some of them have some reddish, yellowish and somewhat orange. Is this just the patina or is it rust? Also what exactly is pitting? If the blade has some circular rings, is that pitting or what?

Thanks guys and sorry for all the newbie question!
Clip

Post by Clip »

Patina starts as a haze on SB and most other carbon steels. I noticed a myriad of colors on mine. It's easy to spot rust as its the usual orange/iron oxide color. Here are a few pics of the patina after a week of carry.

Click here to zoom: Under the Microscope

Manix2, Elmax MT13, M4 Manix2, ZDP Caly Jr, SB Caly3.5, Cruwear MT12, XHP MT16, South Fork, SB Caly3, 20CP Para2, Military Left Hand, Perrin PPT, Squeak, Manix 83mm, Swick3, Lil' Temperance, VG10 Jester, Dfly2 Salt, Tasman Salt

Chris
mcb

Post by mcb »

Very nice! From my viewpoint, it looks somewhat orange near the edge. Is it safe to say that if it looks somewhat "milky" or blended, it isn't rust? Will rust be that dirty, chopping looking stuff like normal rust would be?

Also will it easy to take off that rust with some mineral oil and a cotton ball or qtip or something without affecting the patina?
Clip

Post by Clip »

You won't have to worry about rust as long as you wipe the blade after use. The blade is darkened at the edge fading into a bluish. It eventually got more gray and aged. I took it off with flitz polish and started over too, same results. If you've seen old kitchen knives with staining that's similar to what this will do