A Harpy, a Tasman, or a Lil' Matriarch?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
RealKnifeUser

A Harpy, a Tasman, or a Lil' Matriarch?

Post by RealKnifeUser »

Hello everyone!

I have been debating which of these 3 to get (first), and since I have NO EXPERIENCE with the Salt series, hawkbills, reverse-s, stainless handles, or the Spyderedge, I thought I'd ask you guys. Planned use is as a companion blade to a normal, most likely PE Spyder like an Endura or Native. Frequent, if not constant carry is the goal. Sometimes pocket carry, but IWB when out and about in public. I know the Tasman is the lightest, but its also thicker than the SS Harpy, which, in combination with the drying vent and smooth handle contours make me think its the way to go. I'm also really looking at the Lil Mat as a standalone EDC or companion. Do any of you have some advice for me? I'd love to hear everyone's picks for my described needs, along with your reasoning behind it, since I can handle none of the three. Plus a good discussion is always nice, thats what we're here for, right?

-Ryan
"The skeptic does not mean he who doubts, but he who investigates or researches, as opposed to he who asserts and thinks that he has found."
- Miguel de Unamuno

Military Black G-10 DLC, Byrd Meadowlark 2 G-10, Lil Matriarch, Pacific Salt SE yellow, Endura 4 ffg brown, Native FRN PE, Dragonfly 2 Orange, Ulize, Sharpmaker and UF rods. Also, Cold Steel Voyager XL Clip PE, Kershaw Volt II (on loan), many fixed blades, and a KP strop block.
billy blade

Post by billy blade »

I have a Harpy and a lil matriarch. I prefer the lil Matriarch. The reverse S blade is a good compromise between a hawk bill and a regular blade IMHO. I think I saw them on sale at gp knives BTW
peter469

Post by peter469 »

I carry a Ladybug H1 hawkbill when I work out and love that I can forget it in a sweat drenched pocket without any issues. I plan to get a Tasman as my next purchase :)
gbelleh

Post by gbelleh »