PM2 and sage question

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Andy Blackwell

PM2 and sage question

Post by Andy Blackwell »

Hello all, new user here. I've been a knife guy for as long as I can remember, but I'm new to Spydercos. I recently bought a Tenacious at the recommendation of r/knives on Reddit. I have be thoroughly impressed with this knife, and now I am searching for a higher "grade" Spydie. Before the Tenacious, I never really liked the way that Spyderco looked, and for some unknown reason, I always likened them to the local gas station specialty. (Boy was I wrong)

Anyway, I have narrowed my foray into higher end Spyderco knives down to the PM2 and Sage1, I love the blade steel, and the looks of both of them, and they are roughly the same price point. The PM2 looks about the size of my Tenacious, and the Sage looks just a hair smaller. So they are both on equal footing, in that regard. Everyone that Ive seen online raves about how magical the PM2 is, and likewise Ive seen quite a few people who love the Sage equally.

The only thing that is keeping me from pulling the trigger on the PM2 (whenever they become available again) is the locking mechanism, you see; I live in Columbia, SC and I havent found a local Spyderco dealer so I cant play with them individually (assuming they would even have a PM2) I have always loved liner locks, I like the ability to one-hand open/close and the PM2 is "backwards." From the perspective of never having played with one, it looks somewhat awkward. It probably isnt, and its just that Im somewhat biased toward liner locks, but nonetheless I cant shake that feeling.

I cant afford to "buy both and sell the other one" as Ive seen some people recommend, though I would love to be able to do that. What say you Spyderco forum? Thoughts, ideas, or someone who lives in the Columbia, SC know of a place that might have one in stock would be appreciated. Thanks!

Andy :spyder:
Murdoc

Post by Murdoc »

Hi and welcome to the forum!