How to deal with (minor) rust?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
mikerestivo

How to deal with (minor) rust?

Post by mikerestivo »

Hi folks -

I have been carrying my Matriarch during my bike rides for about 3 months now. The blade started showing some surface rust spots a few weeks ago.

I bought and used Tuf-Glide on it and it seemed to stop it for awhile.

This past week a few more rust spots appeared. I would like to remove them. Is it best to use a fine steel wool? I have never had to deal with rust on a nice pocket knife before. If I'm not mistaken, I thought I read on this forum that a pencil eraser will work, too. Is that true?

I have never used Tuf-Glide before now. How often should it be reapplied?

Thanks -

Mike
dgulbra

Post by dgulbra »

Try a metal polish like Flitz, Simichrome or Super Premium. I would clean and oil it every time your knife comes in contact with a corrosive substance. (sweat, saltwater etc)
The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants
Mr Blonde

Post by Mr Blonde »

For really minor rust spots, I've had good results using copper polish. This was before I hade a selection of real metal polishes like mentioned above. It still does the trick for minor rust spots without making the rest of the blade all shiny.
My Spyderco Pics & Reviews: www.spydercollector.com
Last website update: 4-01-2024 Instagram
Pockets

Post by Pockets »

Once you remove the rust, it might be wise to keep it off by not carrying the knife in a place where it touches corrosive substances. Perhaps carrying it in a bag instead of in pocket/IWB.
JD Spydo

Post by JD Spydo »

dgulbra wrote:Try a metal polish like Flitz, Simichrome or Super Premium. I would clean and oil it every time your knife comes in contact with a corrosive substance. (sweat, saltwater etc)