Issue with Para2 Tip?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Unbrokenchain33

Issue with Para2 Tip?

Post by Unbrokenchain33 »

I am new to knives. I am not sure if I found something wrong with the tip of my blade or if I am making it up.

I have a brand new orange Para 2. I was running my finger along the edge, and on the front side, at the very tip I feel something. It is very tiny, but I can still feel a little something there. It is only evident on the one, front side. When looking at it you can see a little protrusion but only when looking very closely. It feels like on the one side there is a teeny piece of extra steel or something. Hard to see with the naked eye, and could only use my iPad to take a photo so if someone needs to see it I can shoot them an email.

I am wondering if this is normal, or something I should take care of? Something I should send in, or a quick fix at home.

Seems very minor, but definitely is bothering me. Also don't want to have to send my brand new knife back just yet.
APS

Post by APS »

Welcome! Hard to tell without a pic...if it's on the cutting edge, maybe it will sharpen away with a few strokes?
DCDesigns

Post by DCDesigns »

Hey, what you are describing is a burr. its quite common on some knives, though rare on a spyder (depending on what factory made it, my italian Lionspy came with NO tip). Its fairly easy to remedy if you have sharpeing stones. If not, here is your chance to invest! I suggest a sharpmaker as your first sharpener, and then a good norton 220/1000 grit bench water stone for learning to freehand. The norton will also be better for grinding off that burr. Go make a photobucket account, upload a photo of it, then post the "IMG" code in the text box here and we can determin the best way for you to fix it. Otherwise its hard to make a suggestion. Hope this helps! -DC
Evil D

Post by Evil D »