UKPK vs. Dragonfly - First Knife

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Nozh

UKPK vs. Dragonfly - First Knife

Post by Nozh »

Hello yall, I'm new to Spyderco. I've heard great things about the brand, and finally have enough money to splurge on one. I bought a Ladybug, but I would like something a little more substantial. I was thinking about either getting a blue FRN UK Pen Knife or a black FRN Dragonfly. Which would you recommend?

I live in Moscow, Russia where a $60 Delica (in America) costs around $160 here. It sucks. So this (and the Ladybug) will probably be my only Spyderco for a while. I am a design student, so if you'd like to recomend something else (please do ;) ) keep in mind aesthetics are important to me.

Most importantly, It must be fun to play with :)
dialex

Post by dialex »

Welcome to the Spyderco Forum and enjoy your stay here.
I know how it feels, I bought my first Spyderco (a Ladybug) in Romania and it costed a lot.
There are many attractive places where it is better to order online. Even with the shipping charges and everything, it's still cheaper than buying from Russia.
I would go with the Dragonfly, becauseI like it better and it locks (the UKPK is a slipjoint, therefore it doesn't lock).

BTW, I like your nickname (it's Nozh, like in Нож?) ;)
The mind commands the body and it obeys. The mind orders itself and meets resistance.
Nozh

Post by Nozh »

I've been looking online for a place that is inexpensive and will ship to Russia, but I've had very little luck...

I'll add a tally to the Dragonfly then :) I'd be just as happy with either, and that's why I'm having so much trouble deciding.

And yes, you are correct about my nickname :)
bh49

Post by bh49 »

Hi Nozh,
Welcome to the Forum. Enjoy your stay here.
I will second Alex advice to buy on-line in US. There are plenty reputable dealers who will ship oversears. Just to name few: Cutlery Shoppe, Knife center of internet, New Graham knives.