How do I fix this?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ShawnKirkpatrick

How do I fix this?

Post by ShawnKirkpatrick »

I sent my delica 4 FFG back to get sharpened and I got it back yarsterday. So I was looking at the blade and I notice the tip looked like each side was sharpened at a different angle. So I marked the edge with a marker and used the sharpmaker on one side and it took all the marker off, and when I sharpened the other side it didn't take the marker off all the way. I'm not an expert but I guess the one side was sharpened at less than a 30° angle. So how do I fix this? Thank You.
DCDesigns

Post by DCDesigns »

Just wondering, if you know how to sharpen knives, why on earth would you send one back to be sharpened? The factory edge is not anywhere near the best, and the fact that they use grinders leaves you with an over heated edge that will micro-chip with most steels until you sharpen them by hand, removing the steel the grinder over heated. So basically you will have to sharpen it a lot by hand in order to make up for the weakend edge resulting from the grinding. As you can see since one side is off, send knives to be sharpened, not always the best option.

You are going to just have to continue removing stock with the coarse stones until you get each bevel equal...
jabba359

Post by jabba359 »

ShawnKirkpatrick wrote:So I marked the edge with a marker and used the sharpmaker on one side and it took all the marker off, and when I sharpened the other side it didn't take the marker off all the way. I'm not an expert but I guess the one side was sharpened at less than a 30° angle. So how do I fix this?