Bad.

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
TheGrim45Reaper

Bad.

Post by TheGrim45Reaper »

I used an electric knife sharpener to sharpen my delica and now the edge is not continuos, it is really thin near the choil and tip and really thick near the middle. what to do?
BHDKnifer

Post by BHDKnifer »

Hi and welcome. May I suggest...1-Throw away the electric sharpener, 2-Use the delica for parts, 3-Buy a new delica, 4-buy a Spyderco sharp-maker, 5-Learn from you'r mistakes. Take care.
:spyder: Control the HEAD...and you control the SNAKE! :spyder:
:spyder: Integrity is being good even if no one is watching :spyder:
PocketZen

Post by PocketZen »

Welcome to the forums! In my humble opinion you could best spend your time and money sharping freehand. Those electronic sharpeners eat knives, wearing them faster. Many people on the forums use jig/guided systems with great results. I will hope they chime in as I have no experience with those.

Keep this knife to practice sharpening on and if you are real determined it will also be a good piece to learn how to repair edges. :)
O,just,O

Post by O,just,O »

ELECTRIC KNIFE SHARPENER ! :eek: :eek:
Those things are for ruining blades, toss it.
Look to get a Lansky or Gatco sharpening system. Edge pro if you have the dollars. With any of these in the hands of a novice, very good edges are easy to get. You could easy repair the Delica with one of these.
O.
jimnolimit

Post by jimnolimit »

TheGrim45Reaper wrote:I used an electric knife sharpener to sharpen my delica and now the edge is not continuos, it is really thin near the choil and tip and really thick near the middle. what to do?
before i make any suggestions on what you should do with the knife, post up a pic or two so i can see how bad it is.
razorsharp

Post by razorsharp »

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS, WHERE WE CONFESS OUR OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE KNIFE BUYING AND SHARPENING DISORDERS; :P