New guy looking for my first spydie

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ac700wildcat

New guy looking for my first spydie

Post by ac700wildcat »

Hey all
New guy here and I'm just getting into kinda collecting a few knives. I've always carried a pocket knife, but never had anything better than a $20 knife until I ordered a BM Griptilian a few weeks ago. Since then I've ordered a BM Mini Barrage, Camillus Blaze, and a Ontario Rat 1. I like the Griptilian, but its almost too big, so that is about my upper size limit and the Blaze is about as small as I'd want to go.

Anyways, everything I read says that Spyderco makes some really good knives, so I decided I want to order one. I'd like something with a plain edge and within the sizes of the knives I listed above. Also, I'm not much into the really extreme looking blades with the huge ramps on the blade. As far as cost goes under $100 would be good for a first spydie.

Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks
chuck_roxas45

Post by chuck_roxas45 »

I say the manix 2 would be a nice addition to any collection. Delica would be great too, but since you expressed dislike for the ramp...
DeathBySnooSnoo

Post by DeathBySnooSnoo »

Manix 2 is awesome...a stretch in ZDP would be a good one too.
On the hunt for...
BHDKnifer

Post by BHDKnifer »

Hi and welcome. You need to look no further than a delica. For a little over a $100.00 you can get 2. Try a 1/2 serrated one and a plain full flat ground one. Those 2 knives should get you through just about anything and would be a great introduction to spyderco. Take care.
:spyder: Control the HEAD...and you control the SNAKE! :spyder:
:spyder: Integrity is being good even if no one is watching :spyder:
The Mentaculous

Post by The Mentaculous »

I say try a Delica FFG or Stretch 2.

If you are willing to spend around $100, Sage 1 would be the best IMO. You will be blown away by the quality of the design, materials and construction.
defenestrate

Post by defenestrate »