Really new, where to begin

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
LDB

Really new, where to begin

Post by LDB »

I'm new to Spyderco knives. A decade or so ago I was in a position to pick up Benchmade knives at cost and got several that appealed to me. I now own a small expediting fleet and drive wherever in the U.S. and Canada the latest emergency takes me. As I am on the road more than most people I decided to get a rescue tool and decided the Assist I is the tool I want. There are a few others I like the blade on and will gradually add them to my collection.

My question isn't which knives I should buy as I am not buying for resale or financial appreciation, I am buying only for personal appreciation so I'll buy whatever visually appeals to me. My question is where do I learn the secret handshakes and codes and etc. of Spyderco so I know what the assorted abbreviations etc. mean? I've got the easy part like bk black or orange but what about the rest? Thanks for any and all input.
c.joe

Post by c.joe »

You can start with Spyderco's semi-interactive catalog.

http://spyderco.com/catalog/

You can browse through applications, blade steel, handle material, and country of origin.

Here's "Spyderco's Knife Anatomy". Here you can see the different blade shapes, handle materials, grinds, lock ups, blade coating, and pocket clips that Spyderco uses.

http://spyderco.com/edge-u-cation/knifeanatomy.php

As for the abbreviations, I believe only the end of the model # matters. You'll see other things like CF for carbon fiber, YL for yellow, FG for foliage green (not to be confused with flat ground), TR for trainer knives, TRW for trainer waved knives, and I see a lot of G-10 models end with a G. (not too sure about that). There are plenty more but it'll naturally come. Some look random to me and some you can make out with a little thinking.

Check their Edge-U-cation area. That's where I get most of my information.

http://spyderco.com/edge-u-cation/