Just starting out: Should I...

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
ninemm

Just starting out: Should I...

Post by ninemm »

Hey Everyone,

So, I'm just starting out into knives, kind of. I bought a used Foliage FRN Delica this past spring and while I loved the design and ergonomics of the knife the edge was never very good. This was due to the heavy use the PO put on it. I intended to send it off to Spyderco for sharpening, but ended up selling it before I got the chance. (Insert regret here)

Since that time I left knives alone, carrying my Kershaw Leek with me. Well, thanks to nutnfancy the knife bug has bit again. Recently picked up my first(ish) Spyderco, a blue FRN FFG Endura. Woohoo! Now, I've got a huge long list of Spyderco's (and some other knives, gasp!) that I want to buy. However, I'm wondering if it would be wiser to invest in a Sharpmaker so that I can keep my blades cutting well. Keep in mind I am a total newb when it comes to sharpening.

ABRIDGED VERSION: Should I spend money on more knives first or should I get a sharpmaker to maintain the ones I have/will buy later?

Spyderco's on my hit list: ZDP StretchII, Camo or Orange Military, White FRN Dragonfly, Persistence or Tenacious...probably will be more.

Thanks for your help!
crabhab

Post by crabhab »

While I am new here on the Spyderco board I have been collecting knives on and off for about 10 years. I think that a quality sharpening system like the sharpmaker is a solid investment and will provide a basis for maintaining your new knife collection.
The General

Post by The General »

Get the Sharpmaker. Its a solid investment.
My real name is Wayne :D
kawr

Post by kawr »

Yep, I picked up a Sharpmaker along with my first Spyderco knife and it was the smartest purchase I've made. No point in getting knives if they dont stay sharp :) .
ninemm

Post by ninemm »