Sharpmaker has made me a sharp nut

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
dbcad

Sharpmaker has made me a sharp nut

Post by dbcad »

Knowing where I'm removing material (sharpie trick), standing while using the Sharpmaker, slowing down my strokes, and concentrating on keeping the blades vertical have enabled me to get every knife I own scary sharp. Thank you Syderco for the tool.

The old fixed blade in the pic was the latest. With patience was able to get it as sharp as the Delica.

Thank to everyone here for helping me get to this level with the Sharpmaker. I'm still learning much here. Next step is getting some nice bench stones and learning that technique.

Charlie
Attachments
~very sharp.jpg
~very sharp.jpg (88.43 KiB) Viewed 1931 times
Charlie

" Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler."

[CENTER]"Integrity is being good even if no one is watching"[/CENTER]
chuck_roxas45

Post by chuck_roxas45 »

The sharpmaker indeed, gave me the first taste of a sharp knife which I sharpened myself. For years a sharpened on a carborundum coarse/fine and I thought a hair scraping edge was sharp. :D
dbcad

Post by dbcad »

Me too :D It seems now we're in a differnt league, And there are more levels to go..lolol.

That How low thread is a good one. What to aspire to.

Charlie
Charlie

chuck_roxas45

Post by chuck_roxas45 »

dbcad wrote:Me too :D It seems now we're in a differnt league, And there are more levels to go..lolol.

That How low thread is a good one. What to aspire to.

Charlie
As they say welcome to the dark side. :D

We will never be satisfied again until we get that edge. I know, I dream of it often. :D
wongKI

Post by wongKI »

The ultra-fine stones will be da bomb for you, then.
chuck_roxas45

Post by chuck_roxas45 »

wongKI wrote:The ultra-fine stones will be da bomb for you, then.
meh? Yep, the UF stones did make a noticeable difference in sharpness.
AJF

Post by AJF »