Delica for defense

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
AH2525

Delica for defense

Post by AH2525 »

I know there are more "purpose built" defensive knives than the Delica, but in terms of being inconspicuous, readily available, etc. I was wondering 2 things:

1. Are there any resources (videos, books, articles, etc.) focused on the delica for self-defense carry?

and

2. What are other folks opinion(s) of this choice?

Thanks everybody,

Tom
D1omedes

Post by D1omedes »

I think the illustrious Mr. Michael Janich will be able to answer your questions. ;)
Michael Janich

Post by Michael Janich »

Dear Tom:

The Delica is an outstanding knife that meets the needs of personal defense extremely well. I have been carrying two of them on a daily basis for about 10 years and train with them regularly (largely thanks to the fact that Spyderco makes a purpose-designed training version of the knife).

I also typically use a Delica in my "pork man" cutting demonstrations in which I use a target constructed of a pork roast lashed around a wooden dowel (to represent bone) and covered with numerous layers of plastic wrap (to replicate skin). I cover this with a leg feom a pair of jeans and illustrate that a single cut from a well-designed, properly sharpened three-inch blade will cut the target "to the bone," representing disabling that limb. This is demonstrated in this video on YouTube (which I actually produced for local law enforcement and never intended for the YouTube audience):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PWmRWjD ... =1&index=6

As for information on using a Delica responsibly, I recommend my video "Martial Blade Concepts: The Enhanced Version," which is available exclusively from Stay Safe Media:

http://www.staysafemedia.com/product.php?proid=83