Taiwan by the Numbers

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
26.2Madness

Taiwan by the Numbers

Post by 26.2Madness »

If I have counted correctly, Spyderco has made 9 models in Taiwan. 3 of those models have been discontinued due to quality issues. Does that mean if I buy a Taiwanese Spyderco, I have a 33.3% chance of getting a dud?

Maybe it is time to end the Taiwan experiment, and stick to manufacturing in the US and Japan only?
demtek9

Post by demtek9 »

No, most Spyderco models are female and not dudes.
...oh you know why!
THG

Post by THG »

Shield yourself. You're gonna need to.

No, it doesn't mean that if you get a Taiwan model that there's a high chance it's going to be a dud. People have been getting Sages (1 and 2) and Gayle Bradleys, and I don't think I've heard of a problem with any of those.

Of course, I'm also not liking the rise in Spyderco knives being made overseas.
Im not good at sharpening, even with a sharpmaker. How get your blade good can your blade with an edge pro system? - Bladeforums user

Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like? - Some Online Meme
D1omedes

Post by D1omedes »

The makers of the Sage are top-notch. I'm all for keeping those guys around.

Although I do wish more knives were made in Golden, I don't let that stop me from enjoying certain Spyderco models. Whether we like it or not, globalization is how the world runs nowadays. Sal is very honest about that and I also believe is on top of the issues that matter most - customer service and quality control.
Murdoc

Post by Murdoc »

26.2Madness wrote:3 of those models have been discontinued due to quality issues.
That's not true.