Spyderco Civilian Liners?

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
JohnAPA

Spyderco Civilian Liners?

Post by JohnAPA »

Hi all:

I love Spydercos and have begun collecting them for all uses: aesthetic, practical and defense. I'm a relative newbie when it comes to design, history and how they are built. I'm interested in your observations about my new Civilian. I have a Chinook that has full liners on both sides, an I have an Endura that has Skeletonized liners on both sides. My Civilian, however appears to have a full length liner on one side and no liner at all on the other side. I'm not sure what to make of this from a design stand-point and welcome your observations. I don't want to be critical about it's structural integrity because I'm not qualified to make such a judgment, I'm just curious.

John
Jay_Ev

Post by Jay_Ev »

The screws for the pocket clip need somewhere to anchor into securely, that is my guess as to why it only has a liner on the one (clip) side. Screws would easily strip and pull out of bare G-10. If it wasn't for this, my guess is that the Civilian wouldn't have any liner at all.

This is just my uneducated guess and it could be 100% wrong, but I have several other Spydies that are constructed in a similar manner.

If it bothers you, somewhere on this forum there is a thread where a member added a second SS liner to his Civilian for a more symmetric and balanced look.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] <--- My Spydies <click the dancing banana!>
Water Bug

Post by Water Bug »

I find it to be a cool liner design... the Spyderco Civilian may be the only current design to still feature a single liner. Older models of the Spyderco Military and Police also featured single liners. I'm guessing it adds sufficient rigidity and pocket clip screw anchor points (as noted by Jay_Ev) while maintaining light weight.
JohnAPA

Post by JohnAPA »