Please post pics of your Mule scales

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
catamount

Please post pics of your Mule scales

Post by catamount »

I got my ZDP-189 Mule today, and would like to see the different scales folks have made (or had made) for their Mules.

I'm especially interested in Tom Krein's work, as he is probably who I'll have make scales for mine.
Tom

[url]http://spydercovt.com[/URL]
Sequimite wrote:I use knives. I collect experiences.

I'm an admirer of Spyderco's designs. Using them is like immersing yourself in music or studying a painting in a museum. I buy some "fine" art but my preference is for usable art.
Junior avatar courtesy of dialex
jabba359

Post by jabba359 »

I bought the S90V Mule for the express purpose of building my own scales. I've never tried anything like this before, but thanks to the couple of Mule tutorials on the forum, I got my first one done. I made some blanks out of cheap wood to practice on, adjusting the ergonomics on each one. After four prototypes, I had the shape down that best fit my hand and moved on to my real scales. This is my Mule with stabilized redwood scales. I haven't been able to get it buffed to as glossy as I'd like, but I'll keep working on it.
Attachments
Finished Mule.jpg
Finished Mule.jpg (82.08 KiB) Viewed 2415 times
-Kyle

:bug-red
Latest arrivals: Lava Flow CF DLC Para2, Magnacut Mule, GITD Jester

http://www.spydiewiki.com
Brad S.

Post by Brad S. »

Good place to look might be here: http://spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31531

But in the meantime here are two I recently finished. The CF one is on its way to Datan...errr Ozspyder The other is Black linen Micarta with a Sheath by Scott Gere.
Got 3 more with Scott right now... I'll post some photos when I get them back.