Sharpmaker Question

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Nilaman

Sharpmaker Question

Post by Nilaman »

I'm contemplating ordering a Sharpmaker. I guess this question is more directed towards the people who own and actively use them.

For those of you who use their Sharpmaker, do you also use an Ultra Fine Rod to get the shaving quality edge or can that be obtained easy enough with the stock Fine Rod that comes with the Sharpmaker? I'm questioning if I need to order an Ultra Fine Rod now or if I should do it another time, if it's not really that important.

Thanks in advance for your answers!
severedthumbs

Post by severedthumbs »

you don't need it.
psimonl

Post by psimonl »

Get only the 204. When you stop being scared of what it does, then, get the UF.

I've been using the "set" for the past two years, and I still can't understand how this little gear gets my blades so sharp.

Simon
"Everyday above the ground and vertical is a good day".
-Sir A. Hopkins in "The world's Fastest Indian"

"If it hurts, it means you're not dead..."
-Kayakist Marie-Pier Cote

The Spyderco Cookbook
ghostrider

Post by ghostrider »

I guess it depends on how high a polish you want to put on your blades. Most of my knives are used for utility, so I don't even go past the brown stones on them. However, I am glad I bought them because there are some blades I want a high polish on.

It reallly depends on your personal needs.
First they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not stand up, because I was not a Trade Unionist.
[INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]Attributed to Pastor Martin Niemöller [/INDENT] [/INDENT][/INDENT]
Thread for tying tips:
http://spyderco.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18317

Hawkbills- Sink in the tip, and let it rip!!! :D - Axlis
severedthumbs

Post by severedthumbs »

I would recommend getting the diamond rods and a good strop.
dialex

Post by dialex »