martial artist EDC

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Gatekeeper

martial artist EDC

Post by Gatekeeper »

I'd be interested to hear about anyone with martial arts background that would suggest some EDC (3" max- legalities) options from personal experience.

I've been a humble student of Shaolin Kempo Karate for the better part of 11 years and can never seem to find a blade that satisfies me for more than 6 months. My EDC must consist of both utility (mainly) and self defense (hopefully never). Am I addicted to steel???
fossilhunter

Post by fossilhunter »

I was just looking at this one before I came here

http://www.bladeauction.com/cgi-bin/osa ... ber=582822
yog

Post by yog »

Hi Gatekeeper.
I've been a Matial Arts practitioner for about the same length of time, mostly un-armed apart from some batton work.

Because knife laws are so much stricter over here (UK), I tend to carry a knife that is inoffensive as possible when I know I'm going to be in a built-up area (Delica or Calypso Jnr), knowing that I can turn on the offensiveness if absolutly neccessary.

Like a wise man once said, the best defensive knife is the one you always have with you.
vampyrewolf

Post by vampyrewolf »

The best practice with any knife, is to always carry in the same spot. it will be printed into your brain, and you can grab without looking for it.

I always have a knife clipped to my right/front pocket, and my sheath knives are always on my right hip, horizontal carry.

I can grab either one without looking, and without thought.

We all start with 10 fingers. Those with Spydies have 9 to spare, Still need a thumb. Good thing I still have 8 to spare...
kraziekurtis

Post by kraziekurtis »

what is edc?
satori

Post by satori »