new collector & one question

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
sliced

new collector & one question

Post by sliced »

Hi guy's.

I'm a rather new knife collector and have one Spyderco currently, it's a Wayne Goddard in ats-55 steel lock back.

I have a C-42 Howard Viele on order and it will ship next week. I think it is probably the most attractive folder I have seen in a long time for off duty carry

I have a benchmade 710 in M-2 steel & a 2550 auto (I am a cop)

I have several CRKT knifes but they are not what I would call collectible.

I'm currently thinking of ordering an additional Spydie C-56 Tim Zowada if my distributor has one available. I think it's just about as attractive as the Viele.

One great thing is I am an FFL dealer and sell lots of police supply's so when I place an order for stuff I can get myself a new knife and not pay shipping in the package.

Now the question

I am considering the 204MF Tri Angle sharpmaker

Is it a good system, can you sharpen serrated blades ?

Thoughts and comments are appreciated.
mundele

Post by mundele »

I have a 204, and it is great. Yes, you can sharpen both plain and serrated knives with it. I always managed to further dull my knives when trying to use bench stones, but I was able to get decent results right off the bat with the sharpmaker. The included video is really a big help. It still takes some practice, and some learning, so I would recommend that you practice on a "beater" knife first. By the way, one of the biggest helps to me when I was first learning to sharpen was the "knife sharpening FAQ" on www.bladeforums.com, written by Joe Talmadge (who also frequents this site). Might want to check it out...

--Matt
The Stare

Post by The Stare »

Greetings, sliced. Welcome to the forum. Always glad to see a new person, especially glad to see an LEO. Wish we had more.