Question about the Endura......

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
Tom Puderbaugh

Question about the Endura......

Post by Tom Puderbaugh »

Hi gang,

(I'm a first time poster, so go easy on me if I mess up or do something wrong.)

First, some background information.....

I have recently made the decision to carry a (knife) back-up to my concealed carry handgun and I am considering buying the Endura. If I buy one, it will live in my weak side front pocket (left hand) as my gun (Kel-Tec P-32) goes in my strong side front pocket.

I work as a professional in office environments, so anything I carry MUST be very discrete. My dress is usually Dockers type of slacks and a tucked in shirt with tie. I live in Florida, so with the hot weather we have down here, no "covering" garmet would be possible.

I have a couple of questions for you "old hands".....

1. Is the Endura a good choice? I looked at the Delica, but it seems a bit too small to me for emergengy "last chance" type of use.

2. What about the lighweight Police 07G model with the G-10 handles? This looked promising until I saw that it must be carried "point down" only. (Why do designers do that? I've tried to use "point down" pocket knives of my friends and it

seems slow and clumsy to have to reposition the knife around in your hand before you can open it. Not good in an emergency.....)

3. What are the pluses and minuses of the fully serrated vs. 50/50 blade style? It seems like that the fully serrated would be best for emergency defensive type of back-up. (I also carry a very small pocket knife for opening letters, cleaning my fingernails, etc., so I've got that type of use covered.)