just out of curiosity...

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
clovisc

just out of curiosity...

Post by clovisc »

i was wondering about the average age of the average spyderco enthusiast/collector.

i would expect that a passion and taste for spydies would come from a wisdom that only age and first hand experience can bring. i also imagine that in able to afford collecting spydies, one would need a little income and security.

i'm twenty-three, myself, with a relatively new passion for spydies. ALL of my friends think it's "weird" that i'm busy collecting spyderco knives instead of hangovers and concert ticket stubs. the very few people my own age i know who "collect knives" are all still buying cheap, flea-market-quality junk.

anyone care to share their age and/or thoughts?
Jimmy_Dean

Post by Jimmy_Dean »

You certainly need an income to buy/use/collect knives.
I'm a 21yo University student. Got my first swiss army knife as a Christmas gift when I was 7-8 and it went downhill from there.

Edit to add: my "wisdom" as you call it, comes from the fact I'm from the country and I spent some time using knives in camping, hunting, fishing when I was a young puppy.
Jimmy_Dean

Post by Jimmy_Dean »

BTW, I know quite a few people who show me their cheapo knife made in China when I tell them I'm thinking about a RJ Martin or a Tom Mayo. Well...we all need a passion in life :)
ASmitty

Post by ASmitty »