My poor Military, please HELP!

Discuss Spyderco's products and history.
maxfior

My poor Military, please HELP!

Post by maxfior »

Hello all, I'm a newbie to this forum, but not the knives. I've had many spyders and by far my 5 year old military (CPM 440V) has been an amazing knife, the only problem is when I dropped it while working. I was about 6 feet off the ground standing on a table cutting networking cable when she slipped out of my hand. So now I am left with a large chip missing from the tip of the blade :mad: . Please check out the links that I provided if you want to, both in high res and low res. Is this something that I can get fixed, or should I hit up ebay and look for a new one. I'm quite sick to my stomach.
---
HERE are the links:
(low resolution): http://www.maxfior.com/spyderco/low/
(high resolution): http://www.maxfior.com/spyderco/high/
---
Any insight would be great, thanks all! :)

Max
dialex

Post by dialex »

Sorry to hear about your problems. This shouldn't happen to a knife :(
I think that someone with minimal skills could reshape the blade to a blunt tip style or even a tanto one, but I'd get myself another Millie. Now they come in S30V, which is amazing (not that 440V wouldn't be a great steel anyway).
You could also check the W&R dept. at Spyderco, maybe they can replace the blade for a minimal charge.
The mind commands the body and it obeys. The mind orders itself and meets resistance.
maxfior

Post by maxfior »

dialex wrote:Sorry to hear about your problems. This shouldn't happen to a knife :(
I think that someone with minimal skills could reshape the blade to a blunt tip style or even a tanto one, but I'd get myself another Millie. Now they come in S30V, which is amazing (not that 440V wouldn't be a great steel anyway).
You could also check the W&R dept. at Spyderco, maybe they can replace the blade for a minimal charge.