Z-Wear PM, Mule #30 --- My knife experience

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
Setheronie

Z-Wear PM, Mule #30 --- My knife experience

Post by Setheronie »

Background
Before I post my experience with Z-wear, I would like to quickly share my overall knife/steel experience.

I have only used VG-10 (Delica/Endura) and CPM S30V (PM2) for 10 years or so in 'normal' EDC and work related use. I'm a paramedic and have been extremely happy with these knives. I've maintained my knives with Spyderco's SharpMaker during this time. I am not a huge knife/edge guy, but I have definitely been bit by the :bug-red-white . :nerd

Pro tip: If you're in the medical field trying to do a minor surgery on your leg with your PM2 and you think you've cleaned it thoroughly with dish soap, you'll get a staff infection. Don't use your edc for that... :rofl

The Z-Wear Mule
This is my first Mule and pretty much first good fixed blade (I've only had the basic Kabar)
I plan on using this as more of an outdoor/camp/hunting/fishing/farm knife and would like to make a scandi grind on it one day.

I've been really impressed with the factory edge and so far I've only made feather sticks and a walking stick/spear. I did get a spot with tiny chips from cutting off small branches/knots on the stick. Might have been a twist or wrong angle cutting though. Considering how thin and narrow the edge gets, it is understandable; I don't blame the steel for that type of work. I've since then sharpened it and it is very nice sharpening this steel.