Homemade Mule Scale Recommendations

A place to share your experience with our Mule Team knives.
Knivesofaspyder

Homemade Mule Scale Recommendations

Post by Knivesofaspyder »

Hi everyone, I am new to the Mule scene (been on the forums for a couple of months now) and managed to snag a Z-Max Mule earlier this week. I'm planning on building my own scales for it once it arrives and have decided on G10 as the handle material. I'm curious what thickness most people start with when making their handles. I understand the end result is totally dependent on user preference and hand size but would like some recommendations none the less.

I've picked out 1/4" G10 with 1/32" liners which makes the total handle thickness (tang included) roughly 11/16". On a ruler this seems fairly thin although it seems about on point with the factory Halpern scales. Should I just buy a sheet of 3/8" G10 or will I just end up grinding most of the extra thickness away?

Thanks in advance everyone!
TomAiello

Re: Homemade Mule Scale Recommendations

Post by TomAiello »

I always start with 3/8" and sand down from there, to give me room to create contours and '3d' shaping.

I also frequently add liners, so I end up with an initial pre-sanding width above 3/8".

I do sometimes move down to 1/4" when I know I'm going to have a lot of liner material (several stripes, for example). But in general I prefer to have more material, and then shape and sand by hand down to where I want it.

Are you planning to do flat scales (in which case I'd go with 1/4") or do some contouring (in which case I'd start with 3/8")?
standy99

Post by standy99 »

You had me beat at 1/32..... how many millimetres is that :confused:

But yes start thick, you can even throw in another liner or two to what you have and make it colourful....
Im a vegetarian as technically cows are made of grass and water.
TomAiello

Post by TomAiello »

standy99 wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 3:12 pm
.79mm. ;)
standy99

Post by standy99 »